The Process

 

I have not blogged in a while and I needed to update everyone on what has been going on with me.  As it turned out, I suffered an Ischemic Stroke in February and I have been undergoing a regiment of many medications in an effort to lesson the possibility of suffering another episode.  As I have stated in my last blog, I did obtain my Master of Science of Psychology.

It was my goal to enter my Doctoral program, but that has since been tabled until further notice, however, I am in the process of writing my life’s story and how I came to be where I am today in my life.  I have mentioned in a previous blog that, it is my hearts desire to reach as many as possible, those individuals who have or are in the position that I was in, and that is, being behind those prison walls.

Since I have been employed as a public employee and working with adult felons, I have seen many who have lost the struggle with CHANGE.  This process of change is not an easy task and, it requires dedication, determination, and commitment to that CHANGE.  We must position ourselves with a made-up mind that “no matter what, and by any means necessary, I will not give up”.  It must be clearly understood that the negative energy will be intensified because we have chosen to travel that road to change.  This is a road that has been identified as being less traveled, but I am here to attest that it can be done with perseverance.

If we think differently, we can behave differently.  This is where it all begins, with our “Thinking”.  This process is a long process and one must be committed to changing his or her belief system.  It is our belief system that has us trapped into thinking that it is so hard and boring.  Then we become trapped into reverting to our old way of wanting the easy way out and that is our old comfort zone.  Of course, this may appear to be less complicated and leads to an easy excuse for us to minimize our current decision to accept defeat.

This New Way of Thinking must be practiced.  First there must be a life plan developed.  One must create a list of five goals and the plan should describe that process of reaching each goal.  Allow me to clarify this one point, “if you do not commit to following your plan, then it is like not having a plan.  If you work for the plan, the plan will work for you.  The goals should be short-term goals that are obtainable within a 1 to 5 year period.  Keep in mind how we said that the negative energy will appear to be intensified because it wants you to revert back into thinking those old negative thoughts and emotions.  I have developed a concept of an equation, this is the equation that the enemy presents to us, first, we must remember that we are in a positive state at this point which is represented by “0”.  The equations have these signs:  + 1 =.   Here is how it looks,  0 + 1 = 1.  As I’ve said, the zero represents the individuals who remain positive about his or her change, the plus sign represents the negative energy and the number one represents our old belief system and the equal sign represents the consequences and the results of the equations depends on how we respond to the challenges of life’s circumstances or events, in other words, “the vicissitudes of life”.  This post will be continued in another post as we move forward.

Sam Ford, BSW, MSP, CDCA

About GENR8NX

I am a 54 year old male who has spent twenty years of his life in prison and who has now gone on to obtain a BSW and my MSP who has dedicated his life to helping others to gain a better insight on how to better respond to the vicissitudes of life. I have changed my life by giving my life to Christ. There is no other way I want to live the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

